1. The Practical Aquaponics discussion forum has been in operation for the last 5 years...

We have enjoyed giving this service free of charge however ongoing increasing financial costs of running this service is making it increasingly difficult. Up until now we have resisted advertising as a means of a revenue stream to help run this forum but it has become inevitable that extra revenue is required to run this forum.

We have introduced a donate button to help offset the cost of running this forum. It is completely voluntary, but if you would like to donate, all donations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Murray..
    Dismiss Notice

New to AP, Raft DWC Design

Discussion in 'AQUAPONICS MADE EASY interactive discussion forum.' started by PatrickMPH, Apr 18, 2017.

1. PatrickMPH

PatrickMPH New Member

Philippines
    State:
    Manila
    City:
    Taguig
    Hi guys, I'm new to AP. Started researching probably just for 3-4 weeks.

Vision: Commercial scale aquaponics using Raft (lettuce) or strawberries (nft)
    Mission: Proof of concept indoor scale
    Climate: Temperate around 28-35 degrees year round

I'm going to be starting with a raft system growing lettuce either in my balcony or purchasing LED to grow it in my extra bedroom. My main question is for DWC Raft is if the grow media is required. Isn't this where the beneficial bacteria is supposed to grow? I've seen a lot of online systems where there is no grow media involved, so my question is where do the bacteria grow?

PROCESS
    1. Fish tank has SLO for dirt collection and maintaining the water height
    2. Water then goes to media (not sure if its ok to always be wet, maybe half and half)
    3. Then it goes to the sump tank where the pump is located
    4. The pump pushes the water in a split type fashion back to the fish tank and plant area
    5. Repeat step 1
    //all my pipes drop at a few inches away from peak water level to aerate the tank and plants

QUESTIONS: