1. The Practical Aquaponics discussion forum has been in operation for the last 5 years...

We have enjoyed giving this service free of charge however ongoing increasing financial costs of running this service is making it increasingly difficult. Up until now we have resisted advertising as a means of a revenue stream to help run this forum but it has become inevitable that extra revenue is required to run this forum.

We have introduced a donate button to help offset the cost of running this forum. It is completely voluntary, but if you would like to donate, all donations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Murray..
    Dismiss Notice

My barrelponics setup.

Discussion in 'New Aquaponics systems - DIY' started by Captain Crunch, Jan 6, 2017.

1. Captain Crunch

Captain Crunch New Member

Australia
    State:
    Qld
    City:
    Brisbane
    Hi guys and girls,
    Wanted to share my setup for those who may be interested :).
    Very awesome forum too. I'm very new to this and kinda wing it a bit but had some advice of mate that has ibc setup, anyways thought I'd try a little barrelponic setup to see how things go.
    Frame and wood i used plain pallets and stained with vinegar/steel wool (different batches so bit multi-coloured)and barrels I get from work only cost with this was pvc piping and a cheap pump off ebay (qb60) so bit lucky. I live in qld so third of tank(220l) I put into ground and boxed up rest with some insulation to help fish's, grow beds just barrel cut in half, vertical gb for strawberries
    Used 20-25mm aggregate for gb
    And have goldfish in tank
    System been running for 2months and seems to be going good added plants 2weeks ago and seem to be going alright so far,
    Have pump run for 35mins every 1.5hrs plants and fish seem okay but keeping eye on it. PH still high 7 but slowly coming down been doing what yabbies has been doing with his, using acid so bucket at 6pH for top ups.
    Plants I have in it.